2014 South Jersey Spring Series – Race 1 (Cat 4/5)

3 Mar

Cat (4/5) Race + Video + A couple photos.
Ill Post the 3/4 race tomorrow.

Video:

Strava Jawns:

cat 4/5: http://www.strava.com/activities/117361480
31:15min = 12.4miles
Avg Power: 266W
Max Power: 1,147W
Avg Speed 23.8mph

cat 3/4: http://www.strava.com/activities/117361476
46:23minutes = 18.5miles
Avg Power: 256W
Max Power: 1,065W
Avg Speed 23.9mph

Sunday was the first race of the road season down in South Jersey at Team Independence Cycling’s Spring Series Event. They are putting on 4 weekends of racing so if you havnt already jump in the mix to support a good team and solid dudes (https://www.bikereg.com/Net/sjss2014). Coming into the race I was feeling good and the 10am start time for the Men’s Cat 4/5 meant I didnt have to worry about going to be early. Luckily for me Jeff Appletans got me pretty drunk earlier that day at a legit beer tasting at Iron Hill (NJ) for some dialed wild ales and burbon barrel aged jawns so getting rest was easy.

Untitled

Untitled
Anyways I woke up around 8 and got things together. The venue was about 30minutes from Philly and easy to get to. I picked up my sweet Sommerville CLOTH number that was used for both the cat4/5 and 3/4 race. Sweet!

Mens Cat 4/5 Race

After a solid warm-up we lined up and the race started hard from the start. OK, game time. The course was pretty fun with a chicane and easy 90degree turns. After watching the field go though the chicane a couple times I realized being near the back was not an option if I wanted to stay upright.

There were some issues with lapped riders but thats the nature of a 4/5. There are people with such a range of abilities in that race that it can make it tough. After a pull at the front I tucked in to save the legs as I planned on doubling up for my 1st 3/4 race and had no idea what to expect.

Untitled

Of course that lap through the chicane two riders touched shoulders, then wheels, and I thought I was going to take it… I saw the wobble and thought, Oh Shit!/ Luckily they kept it upright but one rider looked to have dropped a chain or broken something and pulled off.

About 2 seconds later a rider who had just taken a weirdo line took another odd line through the chicane and over steered out of the corner causing him to turn-bar into the pavement and eat it. The next thing I know is a bike is bouncing at my head and Im doing 20+mph… I grab the brakes and move to the right but the bike keeps bouncing farther than I was expecting so I swerve left to avoid running it over. Im now barely moving and need to put in an effort to tack back on.

Untitled

It was uneventful for the next few until 5 laps to go. I quickly made my way up front to make sure I was in good position as the legs felt solid. On the back side with 3 laps to go I was sitting 2nd wheel and the pace slowed. I then see Mr. Nick Cal make a hard attack and I follow. I should have grabbed his wheel but I didnt think he’d had the gusto for 3 laps. What I didnt realized that there were slews of lapped traffic ahead of our group.

Nick was able to get past a slew of riders that were strewn across the course. I had to take a poor line through the chicane that round but kept him in sight. Then I realized there was a lapped group of maybe 15 guys that he was then able to jump through and get some more shelter. Shiiiiiiit! I knew he had a solid chance of staying away now but I didnt want to cook myself like I always end up doing at the end of a race pulling the field around… what to do?!

Coming into the chicane a rider came around and I glad fully sat in. Unfortunately on the backside I could tell he was coming un-raveled and had to get around. I tacked onto 2 other riders coming into the 2nd to last turn. I kept a tight line and was able to move past the breakaway rider and now was sitting 2nd wheel on the CS Velo guy going up the slight incline.

I tend to go too early so instead of going around I sat on with hopes to actually out sprint someone. Coming into the last corner I had to slow a but behind the CS Velo rider a bit and by the time I got out of the saddle the CS Velo guy already gapped me and he was wheel-to-wheel with Nick going into the line. Nick was able to keep the win by inches and I came in 3rd out of 49 starters. I felt good about the day and got ready for the Cat 3/4 race in an hour and a half. Ill post that race recap tomorrow.

Congrats Nick on the win!

Untitled

Results:

Untitled

Leave a comment