Austin, TX – An Eating Vacation

17 Apr

Friday night the lady and I flew down to Austin, TX for a wedding and a bit of a vacation. Theme of this vacation was eat a lot and excise zero. We got in late but got a pickup from Chase & Ashley and b-lined it for a Tex-Mex dinner at Matt’s el Rancho. I was so siked for legit chips y salsa and some Loney’s!!!! OOOOOOOOOOHIE!

Untitled

The next morning we picked up some food for the next day at one of Austin’s sweet grocery co-ops, Wheatsville. I seriously love that place, and can’t wait for the kenzo/fishtown co-op to open. We smashed some breakfast tacos and other nonsense then made a quick beer stop at some wild man artisanal gas station for choice Belgium/Texas brews before headed out to Horseshoe bay for a wedding.

We had a few beers and got dressed up for the wedding. The open bar was flowing and some dance moves were thrown before passing out back at the lake house.

The next morning the lady and I watched Paris-Roubaix on an iPhone… Not optimal but it worked. We then said some goodbyes and headed back to Austin. 1st stop was to check out the new Austin Beer Garden Brewing (ABGB) in order to relax and take it all in.

Parking lot find…

After a pitcher or so we made our way to Whisler on the east side for some fancy dranks/cocktails. After hanging for a bit we cruised back north to Titiyas for some legit Thai food. I couldn’t decide so I opted to order and app and 2x dinners. Both were dialed. Next up was an ice cream stop at one of the more artisanal stops on the trip, Sweet Ritual where they share the space with a juice bar & record shop/ They had the best vegan ice cream lineup I’ve ever seen to date.

The next morning Ashley flew back to hotlanta and we headed to Whole Foods. The weather yielded temps in the 40s and monsoon type rains. Lucky for us the flagship Whole Foods is huge for optimal food/beer nerd-ing out. We opted to her made-to-order (think Wawa but healthy) breakfast tacos there as well which were super delish.

Untitled

One of the only things on my agenda was making it to Mellow Johnny’s. Back when we lived in Texas 5some years ago I hadn’t gotten into road bikes yet, so I figured I should make it happen. It definitely didn’t disappoint and was impressive to see some of the old race rigs.

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Next up we cruised to Pinthouse for some microbrews and personal pizzas. Best beers of the weekend may have been consumed here with some La terroir & La Folie on tap from New Belgium. Ohhie! $6 For a 12oz pour of +7% sours!? Count me in. Seriously can’t wait till they distribute to Philly one day. The margarita pizza and pretzel were good toboot.

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

To keep on the microbrew roll we drove over to Blackstar Coop for more of same, good beer and some legit homemade garlic fries/chips. We headed home for a catnap.

Untitled

Untitled

Later that night we met up with some old Texas friends at Liberty. I hadn’t been there in many of years but it was about the same. $1.50 PBR pounders and food from the East Side King trailer did not disappoint. We order slews of beers and some beet fries, cilantro rice, and fried brussels sprouts. Very jealous of their new-to-me food trailers scene. We ran into a few philly friends as well, laughed too much, and I had one of the better nights out in quite a while.

Untitled

Untitled

The next morning we woke up knowing we had a flight out around 3pm so we needed to make moves. 1st up was lunch at Bouldin Creek. Id never been to their new storefront but that place still has amazing veg food and a solid vibe. I crushed way too much food before walking across the street to get some after lunch desserts at Sugar Mama’s.

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

This bike had it all… aero bars AND a 2×4 attached to a rear rack?! ooooohhhie

Untitled

Untitled

We had to be at the airport in 30mins or so but I had one last stop I needed to make. I had read about a veg Jewish food truck called, Schhmaltz. How could I NOT go?! I ordered a Reuben for the plane ride and we giddied up to the airport.

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

This brings me to now, Wednesday night typing on my super delayed flight home. I just ate said Ruben a second ago and wish I had ordered 3x instead of only 2x… the 2nd is for a fairly-Jewish-but-will-bend-the-Passover-rules-for-artisanal-vegan-Austin-Jewish-power-food, teammate Blake. It took me a bit of self control not to pound through his as well… Anyways I digress like always. Austin keeps kicking ass and I had another amazing weekend with slews of food, tons of friends, and a dab of sleep. Viva la Texas!

Untitled

Editors note: the child directly behind me started to throw up a few minutes later which caused his sister sitting next to him to start spewing up as well… Picture one of those chain reaction vomiting scenes just like in the movies. I got zero hours of sleep on the super delayed flight home. Nonetheless, Viva la Texas!

One Response to “Austin, TX – An Eating Vacation”

  1. Ben April 21, 2014 at 5:27 pm #

    Nothing worse than having someone vomit near you on a plane

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

