First Ice of the Winter

22 Jan

Last night after making dinner I sat down to eat. I started to lurk Instagram and noticed a slew of people posting snow photos in Philly. Its sad when you learn about the weather via an iPone app… anyways I looked outside and a there was snow on the cars and wet roads. I knew the forecast for the next day was a high in the 20s and that meant ICE. It was already 9pm and I had to get 3 studded tires on and mounted (2 for myself and 1 for the lady).

I had picked up Nokian Hakkapeliitta W240 (700 x 40c) studded tires a few years back. Last year I don’t think I used them once due to the nice weather but the year before they got some solid use. A couple months back I picked up (1) studded tire off some wild dude from Craigslist for $6. Ill have to grab the make/model off the tire later tonight and see how she liked it.

The Nokian’s were going on the SSCX All City Nature Boy (w/ fenders) and the other tire was going on the front of the lady’s SSCX IRO Rob Roy cruiser commuter. If you’ve never ran studded tires before they are SLOW. The rolling resistance is wildly different than a normal slick. On top of that the Nokian’s are much wider than I run normally and have a semi-aggressive tread pattern for off-road use. I usually run a 42×16 with slicks but wanted to run 42×18 with the studded tires. Unfortunately my chain length and fenders had other plans, and I ended up running it in the inner ring using a 39×18. I was a bit worried last night about spinning out during the 16mile commute in a 39×18 but it wasn’t that bad this morning.

 

20130122-084757.jpg

I took it slow and romped around in the icy bike lanes. Like usual the city roads were shitty with salt on only a few. Luckily the suburbs were mostly cleared.

20130122-084803.jpg

I took the double track in to take in a as much nature as I could before the work day started.

20130122-084812.jpg

20130122-084817.jpg
Today was also the first day this season that my water bottle froze 🙂

20130122-084822.jpg

 

20130122-084836.jpg

20130122-084841.jpg

It was 19°F with wind chills taking it to 1°F so I tried out some my Pearl Izumi AmFib Bib Tight for the first time. I had picked them up last year during the summer when they were heavily discounted. They performed really well today with toasty legs the entire ride even with the wicked wind. The fit length wise (I went with a Large) and ankle tightness were spot on. If I ever use them more frequently Ill try to give an actual review.

20130122-084848.jpg

20130122-084854.jpg

 

20130122-084911.jpg

5 Responses to “First Ice of the Winter”

  1. Dan Blumenfeld January 22, 2013 at 3:50 pm #

    I dig your Nature Boy…I just picked up the same frame at my local shop, and am building up my first-ever SS.

    • Eric January 22, 2013 at 4:31 pm #

      Nice Dan! Mines still more or less stock but one of my favorite bikes out of the fleet for sure.

      • Dan Blumenfeld January 22, 2013 at 4:35 pm #

        I’ve been feeling the itch for something light and zippy with a flip-flop, so as to broaden my velo-horizons a bit.

        I’ll still be on the ‘bent for anything much over 50 or 60 miles, but options are always good.

      • Eric January 22, 2013 at 5:55 pm #

        Its been nice in the last year or so the number of companies making cross bikes with horizontal dropouts. I know before I was struggling to find anything, especially used that fit the bill. I think it’ll be a nice change-up in your bent fleet.

      • Dan Blumenfeld January 22, 2013 at 5:59 pm #

        Heh…my fleet is barely half-‘bent these days. Three ‘bents, a heavily customized Bianchi Castro Valley for my daily driver, a Redline D440 rigid 29er, and now the Nature Boy. Oh, and a 26″ uni I haven’t yet bothered to learn how to ride.

Leave a Reply

