Lesson Learned

23 Jan

I was in a rush Monday night getting studded tires and such on for Tuesday’s icy morning. I had looked through my parts bin for fender break-away mounts that attach to the front fender but could only find (1) of (2) needed. So I put it off. Break-away tabs hard mount to the frame on one side while the fender snaps into place on the opposite side. The idea is if a stick or something gets caught, the fender will detach from the bike and less harm will happen to the cyclist. Being that I was running the studded tires (what are much wider and taller than my normal slicks), I didn’t have the normal clearance from my tire to my fender. This isn’t an issue on pavement as it’s mostly flat, but on trails is a different story.

Last night I turned left and headed down the access trail to the double track. The frigid temps had the snowy dirt ruts frozen and in therefore very bumpy. I probably made it 200ft down the incline when the bike bounced and the front fender got eaten up by the front studded tire. If you havnt had the pleasure of experiencing it yet, when an object gets stuck in your front wheel it will stop cold. The bike then acts like a sling shot with the pivot point being about the front wheel’s axel and you WILL go over the bars. During the graceful plunge, my hands were still gripping the bars during rotation and eventually I landed directly on my back, knocking the wind out of myself. I laid on the snowy ground for a second, laughed, and proceeded to check out the damages. After riding, messing with the fender, riding some more, and re-messing with it, I finally gave in and took it off. Its never fun to stop and start when its cold cold.

20130123-101814.jpg

20130123-101820.jpg

This morning was another cold one. 11°F ambient temps with an 8mph constant head wind. Ice beard in full effect + bloody nose that I was nursing for a few miles (tilted head up riding is intriguing at best.)

20130123-101835.jpg

2 Responses to “Lesson Learned”

  1. Joseph Todd April 5, 2017 at 10:16 pm #

    Wow, I searched for “Lynskey Cooper CX Fender” and found your blog. I just installed the Planet Bike fender safety tabs on a set of Honjo wide fenders. I’ve read a lot about the dangers. What fenders did you install on the Lynskey? I’m a randonneur and enjoy wide tires and fenders. The Cooper CX is on my radar, if it will work with chubby tires and fenders. Your Lynskey turned out super nice! High-end parts. Light and strong bike. Nice!

    • Eric April 24, 2017 at 5:12 pm #

      Thanks! I have been swapping through a few different fenders on the Lynskey. For the most part I have been using the clip on race blades so i can easily pull them on/off. Ive been loving the bike so far! Ive been on it for a little over a year and have ~5k miles on it so not a really long amount of time but its definitely my go-to bike right now.

Leave a Reply

