Mechanicals

7 Feb

I shouldn’t complain but I will… I wore down my rear tire not too long ago, it was a 25c Thickslick which I swear by for their puncture resistance at a really cheap price <$25/tire. The downside is they are on the heavy side depending on which model you go with. I had started to get punctures as the contact patch flatten/thinned throughout the lats couple months then I blew a sidewall on their steel bead model. I hate blowing side walls and that’s why I gave up on $45 Gatorskins. After that I was in the mood to try something new and wanted something a tad wider for the gravel double track that’s part of my commute. I was between the Schwalbe Marathon Supremes, Panaracer RiBMo’s, and the Panaracer T-serv’s. I went with the Panaracer RiBMo’s in a 28c as they were on sale for $33.

My first inspection of the tires showed a pretty durable sidewall and a triangular cross-section with a health amount of rubber at the contact patch down the center. I strapped it onto the rear and realized that the tire/rim combo was on the tougher side of tires to mount with the stiff sidewall not helping the cause. Like anything new, I was excited to try the tires out as I had heard great reviews from rando/touring/commuter folk on the intranets.

On the morning of my third commute and 74 miles total on the tire, I heard a loud PSSHHHhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh. When I got off my bike I went straight to the front tire just to realized my brand new rear Rimbo was flat. A piece of glass had sliced all the way through the tire and casing at the center section with the most protection. Lame. I usually buy new tires for the winter so I don’t have a flat based mechanical when its cold out because that time off the bike equals sweat which equals you’re going to be freezing. I always bring a LS shell or windvest to throw on when I get pedaling again for circumstances like this but its never fun to warm back up all wet with sweat. I used part of an old bib number and wrapped it around the tube so that the tube didn’t expand through the missing chunk of tire. I know the flat was ‘bad luck’ but seriously >100miles and a flat already? Maybe these tires are tough for non-city/urban/philly roads but on my commute the roads are 90% asphalt, 8% glass/debris, and 2% trash. Sorry, rant over.

20130207-112643.jpg

Oh and the other morning I was riding, heard a weird metal jingle noise and looked back to my saddle on the ground. The bolt had sheared on the generic seatpost that had come on my All City Nature Boy. Luckily I was on a few miles out, so I turned around and rode home. It was like riding a big BMX bike long distances… not a fun thing at all. New parts soon to come for the SSCX build.

20130207-112708.jpg

Under saddle shot of the shear bolt and the plastic bags i keep under my seat for rain protection.
20130207-112702.jpg

4 Responses to “Mechanicals”

  1. fxdwhl February 8, 2013 at 1:49 am #

    I’ve only ever called for a ride after blowing out a ribmo on the way home from work. Thousands of trouble free miles otherwise. Currently have a pair of 25’s on the steamroller. T-Servs are too dainty for daily abuse especially if you mixing in dirt.

    Schwalbe Marathons are the way to go for bomber tires but they’re heavy. I wore thru a set and don’t ever recall flatting but I pulled plenty of wire and glass out of the rubber.

    • Eric February 8, 2013 at 1:28 pm #

      Interesting. I really do need to try a set of Schwalbe Marathons. Ive heard great things. What width did you run with them?

      • fxdwhl February 8, 2013 at 2:19 pm #

        28’s

  2. Chris L March 4, 2013 at 9:38 pm #

    I ride 28c Schwalbe Marathons on my commuter. My back tire wore through to the inside casing…over 5000 miles. The front tire’s still going. No flats ever.

Leave a Reply

