WhirlyBird Cross 2013

14 Oct

WhirlyBird Cross, MAC race #5 of the series at Bensalem High School in the great North East Philadelphia. Last year was their first year at this venue and I recall really enjoyed the course/hecklers.

Video:

I just bought a new iMac after busting the ladies computer… first time back in the editing game… enjoy!

IMG_3321

C men – Cat 4/5 Race pictures

IMG_3224

IMG_3227

IMG_3228

IMG_3230

IMG_3231

IMG_3232

IMG_3233

IMG_3236

IMG_3237

IMG_3241

IMG_3244

Style points.

IMG_3249

We got part of our kit order including bball jerseys//

IMG_3211

Womens 3/4 – Cat B photos:

IMG_3250

IMG_3253

IMG_3256

IMG_3268

IMG_3270

IMG_3272

IMG_3274

IMG_3276

IMG_3278

IMG_3279

Mens Cat 2/3/4 – B Race:

I wont talk to my race too much since the video shows most of it but it was a fun tough race. Coming into it I knew I wasn’t going to be hanging with Mark or Bernie and was gunning for a top10. I got a 1st row call-up and came out of the prologue in 3rd behind Bernie and Sean. Sean went down after the first turn and I was already going low with nowwhere to go. I tried to bunnyhop/ran into him and hoped off my bike and started running with my bike on one side of the tape and my person on the other. After bobbling around a stake I jumped the tape, yelled out a hoot&holler and proceeded to jump on Andrey’s wheel. This was about the time a FreddieFu guy yelled at me and I may have cursed at him a bit then chopped him hard after the run-up. Throughout the race I traded spots with a slew of regulars which made the race a blast. The off-camber mud bog became wild and i was doing a one footed half crank ride through it everylap until i tried to run it once (shown at the end of the video) and i almost ate it hard… Somewhere mid way through #Pro CRCA cat1 roadie Alejandro Guzman cruised past me but that was the inevitable. After that I sat in with a couple of groups with Myles, Caleb, and a few others before Sean (Elite Endurance Training Systems) formed a big gap on me that I was never able to reel back until the last lap when I saw him and Guzman not too far ahead. I gave it some gusto as I knew Guzman must have had a mechanical if he was drifting back but wasn’t able to close it down and slowly rolled past the line getting 5th out of 88 racer. This course really lends itself to my strengths and I had one of my best races ever. I felt good about the day.

Strava Jawn: http://www.strava.com/activities/88657108

A couple sweet photos from ‘http://www.apicephoto.com’

Apice Photo: 2013 Whirlybird 'Cross &emdash;

Apice Photo: 2013 Whirlybird 'Cross &emdash;

Apice Photo: 2013 Whirlybird 'Cross &emdash;

iPhone jawns:

IMG_3315

IMG_3316

IMG_3317

IMG_3319

Cat 2/3/4 Podium:

IMG_3281

It got dirty out there…

IMG_3288

IMG_3291

Cat 2/3/4 results:

IMG_3296

IMG_3300

This made me chuckle.

IMG_3298

I let the lady open up my prize pack of a giant thing of Heed and some sweet kit washing supplies.

IMG_3303

Next up was the all important ‘On The Border’ trip to eat and drink it up.

IMG_3307

IMG_3311

Dog Podium

IMG_3314

3 Responses to “WhirlyBird Cross 2013”

  1. fatmarc October 14, 2013 at 4:39 pm #

    as always very well done. On the blog, on your race.
    Loved the video.

    • Eric October 14, 2013 at 4:41 pm #

      Thanks! Excited to edit videos again.

  2. Lance Dunn October 15, 2013 at 12:08 am #

    Awesome job out there. You were kicking ass! Nice socks too! I saw that dude with the camelback go down in the mud pit. It was epic hilarity. He totally superman’ed it right into the mud!

Leave a Reply

