2014 Nittany Lion Cross – UCI Men

8 Sep

— Saturday at Nittany Lion Cross —

This is the first big race of the season, the first race we were doing, and my first UCI race ever. I was excited to see a slew of cross buds but was more than a bit weary of doing the A-race. We got there before the 9:00am C-men race so the lady could pre-ride before her race, ie we were going to be there all day. The course was pretty much the same as always, with some of the roots covered in a small amount of loose dirt which meant that section was a cloud of dust if you were towards the back.

Ill keep my race recap short. I roll up to get my tire width checked and my front barely fits… guess tubes-n-clinchers really aren’t pro!? Im probably 3rd to last row with 45 starters. Im usually really nervous staring a cross race but I wasn’t nervous at all. Honestly I didn’t even know we were ready to start and was barely clipped in and focused before they blew the whistle. I lined up all the way to the left like a dum-dum and kept it civil during the start. I was told before the race to ride aggressive and make moves when I could. I tried to rail turns and pump out all the power these legs could handle…

That approach worked pretty well for the first 2 laps then BAM. I blew up sooooooo hard. My legs seemed alright my but lungs… my lungs did NOT like what I was doing at all. In a short section I think 10 riders went around me. Bleeeeh. The rest of my race was me riding by myself thinking, ‘Why am I doing this again?!’ I made it 45minuntes being 2 laps down before getting pulled. Not sure why they give people DNF’s now for getting pulled but oh well. I ended up 3rd to last, exactly where cross-results had placed me.

I have so much to work on in order to actually get in the mix. Im never going to be towards the front, but id like to make it through a full UCI race without getting pulled one day.

Strava Jawn: http://www.strava.com/activities/191061860

Youtube Video:

Photos:

4/5 C Men

Womens 3/4

Hole shot

Podium

Men’s 35+

35+ Results

2/3/4 mens B race

2/3/4 Results

Men’s UCI

Untitled

Droppppppped

Men’s UCI results

One Response to “2014 Nittany Lion Cross – UCI Men”

  1. Pizzasauce September 9, 2014 at 4:10 pm #

    Great post Eric, kudos for stepping up your game and entering the DANGER ZONE, you’ll get to your goal I am confident!

Leave a Reply

